Spontaneously Lost

Spontaneity. Spontaneity is the epitome of being “in the moment”. At the thought of doing something spontaneous, everyone gets excited and shivers of thrill run down our bones. There is this adrenaline rush that fills you up with mere thought of being adventurous. So you think, “Okay, let’s do it!” We are young, bold, and a tad bit wild. We got “nothing to lose”  is our motto.

So, when a friend asked me last minute if I wanted to take a day trip to Dover, I immediately said yes. Where is Dover? At the time, I had no idea. What is at Dover? Still, no idea. How do you get to Dover? No. Idea. But hell, I’m young and I’m living in London, so why not see more of England?

Well, this last minute and spontaneous trip had me buying my bus ticket about 18 hours before departure.Yet the foreboding shadow of unknown possibilities haunt me. Being 100% spontaneous did not sit well with the my curious brain driving me, so I googled Dover.

Let the adventure begin! I bought my bus ticket, knew there was a castle, and knew there was cliff.  Do you bus around in Dover? Is there a Tube? Crap, what am I going to eat? Shit, did I bring enough pounds? Sweet, found 10 pounds my other wallet! I think I have enough pounds now. So many questions, so few answers.

By noon, we finally arrived at our destination. I have no idea where we are, but can see the massive castle sitting at the top of the cliff…except I am at the bottom of the cliff. After a few minutes of aimless wandering, we head in some direction toward the castle. We start to wander the castle grounds and take pictures of all things historic. This castle was astonishing and it has so much history tied to it. Built in 1100A.D or so it has had a huge part in warfare up till WWI and WWII. We could only see the outside of the castle, but finally took the plunge and bought tickets. Turns out, we unknowingly snuck into the castle grounds as most people drive up the huge cliff we walked up. Well, jokes on me because I could have saved myself 15 pounds (in other words think $30).  However, this was the most well spent 15 pounds I have ever paid. The view from the Tower was beautiful, and the fact that a building this old was still standing was inspiring. I can’t even imagine some sky scrapper in Los Angeles being around in a thousand years. Yet, this castle still stands tall and proud.

IMG_1394From the castle, I walked to the Cliffs of Dover. Turns out, unlike London, everyone drives in Dover. So, this was quite a walk. The sun was out, but my hands, toes, and face were absolutely numb. A windy country road with no sidewalk took us to the Cliffs, but I finally made it in one piece.

The Cliffs are beautiful and completely paper white. They are white because they composed of chalk, so that means that millions of years ago all of this land had to be under water because chalk is simply compressed seashells and other organisms. I would have spent all night walking along the cliffs. In the distance I could see the ferry head off to France, but haze in the sky prevented me from seeing on of my dream destinations. Seeing the twilight sun reflect against the water was just enough for me. Pinks and oranges filled the sky as I walked away from the mind numbing cold and back to the city.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1868.

Just imagine, hundreds of years ago this was the spot that merchant ships from France and Europe would come into, ready to trade their cheese, wine and silks. Just a few decades ago, young men and women would have spotted war ships and faced numerous bomb threats from WWII.  So much history has happened in this little, quaint town.

Turns out a day of spontaneity can never happen to the fullest without some mishap. By the time we hit the pub and I was two Thatcher Golds deep, I realized my friend, Matt, had a raging fever. Where it came from? No idea. But, hey, that’s what happens with spontaneity. I got lost, unknowingly hiked a cliff, then hiked to another cliff,  lost the bus station, and all that tied together with his fever. 12 miles, 2.5 hour bus ride, and 1 fever later I would still say it was worth it. I have never been more unprepared for a day trip, but hey, be spontaneous.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Spontaneously Lost

Leave a comment